Kanye West: The Yeezus Sessions

Pitchfork caught up with some of the contributors to Kanye’s Yeezus album, including Hudson Mohawke, Justin Vernon, Travi$ Scott, Mike Dean and more to speak on the process of making of the album.

ama-god

On Making “I AM A GOD”

Noah Goldstein: The very first time I heard Kanye say “I am a God,” we all were like, “OK, that’s where we’re going– let’s go all the way there.”

Hudson Mohawke: “I Am a God” was one of the first songs he had for the record. It was like the blueprint. The original version was even more directly in-your-face and aggressive than the final, but given the song’s title, it didn’t need this fucking apocalyptic, earth-shatteringly massive production to get its point across.

Noah Goldstein: If you watch LeBron dunk in the middle of a game, you’re gonna get up and freak out. And it was like that when Kanye spit the first verse of “I Am a God”. It was really fucking early in the morning, and he just came downstairs, and was like, “Yo, let’s go.” It was the most emphatic performance. I was like, “Holy shit!” [laughs] I stopped and hit save really quick and thought, “Fuck, I gotta back up the drive right now, man. That was crazy.”

He does that shit a lot. He did it on “New Day” as well, from Watch the Throne. We were set up at the SoHo Grand, and he came in at fucking 9:30 in the morning and was like, “Yo, I got the ‘New Day’ verse, bring it up.” Then he spit it. I looked at him, like, “For real, man? That just happened? You just did that shit?” He just smiled at me.

Read the entire article HERE

Leave a Reply

